Top

External Reviewer access

The purpose of this guide is to provide you with clear and concise instructions on how to provide access to a peer reviewer or other external party to a specific file in your MyWorkpapers account.

Through the functionality in MyWorkpapers you are able to provide read-only access external or internal reviewers to ensure that sensitive client information is protected.

Whilst you can simply add the user to your existing list of team members, it is recommended that you follow these procedures to protect your data.

 

Step 1: Establish a specific role

The first step in the process is to establish a specific user group role in your MyWorkpapers account. This will allow you to add peer or other external reviewers to this role and customise the access permissions which they have in your account.

  1. Ensure you have permission to edit the Roles and Permissions module;

  2. On the top navigation bar, click on the Dashboard drop down arrow and select Roles and Permissions;


  3. In the Roles and Permissions module, click on the Manage User Roles button;

  4. Under the Create a New Role menu, type the name of the new user group (i.e. role) you wish to create;

  5. Click the Add button;

  6. Your newly added Role Type will be added to the User Role List.

 

Step 2: Define the permissions of the new role

The next step is to restrict the access permissions of the new role which you have just created to ensure that the external reviewers cannot access all of your clients, edit your firm settings or inadvertently make changes to a file.

  1. Ensure you are in the Permissions section of the Roles and Permissions module;

  2. On the Roles and Permissions module, click on the Edit button;

  3. Click on the dropdown arrow on the permission heading you wish to expand;

  4. For the newly created role, ensure that no options are ticked.

 

Step 3: Add the required people in the staff list

Now that you have successfully created your new role and customised the access permissions, next you will need to add the peer or external reviewer to your staff list and assign them with the newly created role.

  1. Access the Staff List;

  2. Click the Create New Staff button;

  3. Enter the required information in the boxes provided, ensuring that you select the role to be that which you created in Step 2 above;

  4. Ensure the check boxes Activate Account and Email Account Details to Staff are ticked, as appropriate;

  5. Click on the Create New Staff button to finalise the creation process;

  6. An email notification will now be sent to the reviewer, providing them with the:

    • Firm username;

    • Individual username; and

    • Assigned password.

At this point the reviewer will NOT be able to access any of your files or sensitive information.

 

Step 4: Assign the reviewer to the required files

Due to the highly restricted permissions which you set for the user, it is now necessary to add the reviewer to the required files so that they can access them. Without completing this step the reviewer will not be able to access any of your files.

  1. Locate the file you wish to provide the review access to through the My Files menu;

  2. Ensure you are viewing the File Details tab;

  3. Click on the dropdown arrow on the Engagement Team section to reveal the list of staff members allocated to the engagement;

  4. Click on the dropdown arrow on the Select staff box;

  5. Select the name of the reviewer you added in Step 3 above;

  6. Repeat Step 4 for any other file which the reviewer requires access to.

The reviewer will now have access to the files which they have been assigned to as part of the engagement team of and will only have read-only access.

 

Step 5: Post-review access

Once the review of your file has been completed, you should now remove the access rights of the reviewer to your account.

  1. Access the Staff List;

  2. Identify the reviewer in the staff list;

  3. Either click on the Suspend or Delete button as appropriate;

Clicking suspend will keep the reviewers details in your system, but they will not be able to access your account until you reactivate them. It is recommended that you use this option if the reviewer will need to view files again in the future.

Clicking the delete button will permanently remove the reviewer from your system. If you need to add them to your account again you will need to work through the steps in this guide again.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.